Cheerleader and storyteller

MBPicture

Pastor’s wear many hats. My hats over the last few years have been many. You name them I’ve worn them. If you’re a pastor, you know what I’m talking about. Depending on what day of the week it is, the hats can change. Every hat has a name. The hats vary in size. Some are too big and some don’t fit that well.

Today I put on a couple old hats that felt sorta new. I wore the cheerleader and storyteller hats today. You see, I officiated a wedding of a very good friend. He and his wife have a powerful story. I wish I can share it here, but unfortunately I can’t. What I can share is that their story involves grace, hope, and most of all God’s faithfulness in the midst of the joys and struggles we all face on a daily basis.

I know I’ve worn this hat of cheerleader before. I think today it was the first time I realized how important this hat is when it comes to officiating a wedding. When the wedding is over and after I’ve done my part as the minister, there’s something else I do. I sign the marriage license.

By me signing that license in some ways it’s a promise to God, that I will continue being their cheerleader. By them letting me stand with them on their sacred day, before God, their family and friends, I’ve been invited to participate in their story. I’ve been invited not to just be a spectator, but to be a participant in their lives. By me signing that license, I’ve promised to cheer for them when things are going well and that I will stand with them when they need me to be their pastor, mentor, and friend.

Manny and Betty I believe in you. I believe it’s not by accident that you’ve been brought together. Your friends and family believe in you and my prayer today is that you will continue trusting in the one who continues being faithful to you. You’re a testimony and I’m honored that I get to be your cheerleader on this very special and sacred day. I’m also honored that I get to continue to tell your story and that today was another page added to your story. Can’t wait to see what’s next for you.

To God be the glory.

Leave a Reply

