Getting ready

IMG_0237

This coming Sunday is my first Sunday as the new pastor of the Silverlake Community Church in Los Angeles. This also has been my first week in the office, hanging out and getting to know some really awesome people, who love the Lord and love doing God’s mission together in the city. All I’m really doing this week is watching, listening, asking questions, and taking lots of notes.

Last night I got to hang out at the food pantry that the church hosts every Wednesday evening at 5:00pm. People started lining up one by one as early as 4:00pm. I met some amazing guests. People from all walks of life, young and old, who were simply grateful to be there. I also met some amazing volunteers. People who have given of their time each and every Wednesday, to do God’s work in the community.

I also got to sit in on a Bible study. I got to meet some really cool people, who are hungry and who are simply trying to listen to God speak. As we sat around the table, in conversation, discussing the text, I smiled, listening to the band in the background, practicing in the sanctuary for the worship service on Sunday. There are some pretty cool musicians, people who care about leading God’s people into worship.

I took this picture a couple of weeks ago. It’s a great visual for me as I prepare for Sunday and as I pray for those who will fill these pews and pray for those who will help lead others into worship this coming Sunday. Honestly? I’m super excited. I’m also super nervous. I have tons of butterflies. I’m getting ready.

For my friends in the desert? I’m forever grateful. You will always have a special place in our hearts and I’m thankful that we get to call you our friends.

For our new friends in SIlverlake?

Let’s do this.

Leave a Reply

