Things we parents do…

It’s happening all over again. It happens every year. You guys go back to school. I don’t know if you realize this. Back when you were in like kindergarten and even through elementary school, I would drop each of you off, watch you walk to class, and I would go and park my car and sit in front of the school for a few minutes, at the start of every school year. I’d say a prayer for you guys and I’d be off on my way. Of course this is way back, when you were like in elementary school. When you guys entered middle school, I did the same thing and yes, I did the same thing when you hit high school too. I know. I’m a nerd.

Now that two of you are out of high school, I can’t do that anymore. As a matter of fact, when we dropped you off at your college, I had the hardest time leaving. I think I cried all the home on the plane. I know I’m going to do the same, when we drop you off too. I also know I’m going to do the same when you finally graduate high school. In like five years of course.

You two collegians, I wish I could hop on a plane, every few days, check in with you, make sure you’re eating and getting the rest you need and that you’re doing your best. I sometimes wish it was still kinder or first grade. When I made your lunch, took you to school, waved, and wondered how you were doing throughout the day and even saying those little prayers that God would guide you and keep you as you went through the day.

As for you middle schooler? We get a few more years together. I know it’s going to go fast. I’m praying it goes super slow. Of course it won’t and I will again shed tears of joy for you as I did and will for your two brothers and yes, when you finally make it to high school, I won’t leave, I will do the same thing. You can count on it.

To God be the glory.

 

Leave a Reply

