Surrender

I’m not completely ready for Lent. As a matter of fact, I know I’m not ready. I don’t know what I will be giving up this year and I have no clue what I will be adding to the part of my life that is desperately in need for a renewal of the soul and a restoration of the heart.

In preparation of Ash Wednesday, I’ve decided to bring out the white flag. I’ve decided that surrender is really the only way that I will be able to face the inevitable. “You’ve come from dust and to dust you will return.” 

Tomorrow I will be the guy who helps impose ashes on the foreheads of those who will come and gather for a few moments in silence to reflect on the inevitableness that we will all eventually depart from this world and that death is real.

Ash Wednesday is about surrender. It’s about letting go. It’s about saying we have nothing to be afraid of and that the only way to truly experience God’s grace is to live our lives unashamedly and with hope that Easter is coming. The promise will be kept.

In the meantime, I will surrender all, and I will raise the white flag as high as I can.

Because there is no other way I can do this alone.

Leave a Reply

