Better, stronger, faster?

Honestly?

I continue to fail at keeping New Years resolutions. I simply stink at keeping them. I’ve wanted to lose 30 pounds for what seems like a century. I’ve always wanted to read more. I’ve wanted to be more of an outdoorsman. I hate that I can play the guitar and I still can’t play like Eddie Van Halen. I’ve wanted to travel more. I hate that I lack some disciplines that many of my friends have practiced for years. I want to pray more. (Yes, the pastor wants to pray more too) Most of all, I continue to want to be a better husband, father, and friend. I can go on and on. I can come up a with a list that is a mile long of things I’ve wanted to change every year and work on doing.

Sometimes I feel like the words of Oscar Goldman from the that old television show, The Six Million Dollar Man, are on a loop in my head right about this time of year, “Gentlemen, we can rebuild him. We have the technology. We have the capability to build the world’s first bionic man. Steve Austin K.C. Wahe will be that man. Better than he was before. Better, stronger, faster.”

Here’s what I’ve decided that I’m going to do in 2014 when it comes to New Years resolutions.

Nothing.

Instead I’m going to focus on where God has placed me. I have a beautiful wife. She deserves more than the world for what she puts up with on a daily basis with me. God has given us some great kids. I’m in awe of their gifts and their talents. I’m so jealous that the world is waiting at their door step and I know God is very much at work in their young lives. I pastor not one, but two amazing churches that haven’t thrown in the towel yet when it comes to making a difference in the world for Christ. They love their neighborhoods and they want so much to be a beacon of hope for their communities. I am a student. I need to keep learning. I have to try. I can’t give up. I also need to be faithful to the call God has placed in my life to walk alongside people in the best and in the worst of times when it comes to pastoring and I do know if I’m not spiritually, mentally, emotionally, and physically healthy, all of this means nothing. I’m not getting any younger. I need to get healthy. Period.

So? Heres to another year. I will cheer. I will celebrate. I will give God thanks for the many blessings. I will kiss my bride and hugs my boys and when its all over?

I will push throw 2014. I will not give up. I might not be better, stronger, or faster…

But I will be close.

To God be the glory.

Leave a Reply

