It was just yesterday…

Last week I got to do something that I never experienced in my own life growing up with my own parents. It was surreal to say the least. From start to finish. It was something that I will cherish for as long as I live. It’s also something I look forward to doing with our other kids.

Last week I got to visit a college with one of our kids. It was an amazing experience for me as a dad. As we walked around the campus for a tour, later on a housing tour,  listened to a couple of presentations, met with his admissions counselor, and had a tour a good friends daughter gave us of the community, I had to pinch myself because it was just yesterday that I was sitting in a hospital celebrating his birth with my wife and giving thanks. It was just yesterday that I carried him on my back in one of those baby backpacks. It was just yesterday that I was reading “Brown Bear Brown Bear What Do You See?” It was just yesterday when we watched his and his brothers eyes pop out of their heads on their first plane ride. It was just yesterday I was watching him play little league and it was just yesterday that we watched him graduate middle school. In about 4 months we will celebrate a graduation. In about 8 months we will say a prayer and send him off to the college he decides he should go to and where it is he feels God calling him to.

This train called raising kids continues to zoom really fast and at the speed of light. But it’s still not over. The train ride doesn’t end yet and we still have a whole lot more “it was just yesterdays” to go. It means as parents our eyes need to be WIDE open as to not miss what still lies ahead along the journey of celebrating with our kids their their joys that come with being faithful and persevering and there are still some occasional bumps on the road that we as parents will have the honor of helping our kids navigate through.

There is still so much to see and so much to do. We still have a few more schools to visit. The prayer now is that the gift of discernment will fall upon his life and that these next few months will slow down just a little bit. I learned from an old friend that our kids are to out do us as parents. We raise them to send them off into the world hoping they have the tools and the eyes wide open to be able to maneuver and move about in whatever it is God calls them to and as they seek to follow Christ and seek to make a difference in the kingdom.

Leave a Reply

