The joys of the search process…

As some of you know I’m in the process of searching for a new call as a pastor in the Presbyterian Church U.S.A. It’s a slow process and a discerning process in that my family and I must truly listen to where the Lord wants us and is calling us and why he’s calling us to a certain place. Here’s a response I got back from a church that I thought was worth posting.

Two things. First, your sermon was the first one that the committee listened to. A couple of the committee thought that it was to youthful. I personally was very satisfied with it. Some were afraid to make a decision. We read *** PIF’s. Once a PIF was discussed, there were some that didn’t want to go back to talk about anything we had gone over. Our congregation’s average age is about 75. The PIF that the committee could unanimously agree upon was number ***. My personal opinion is that you have a lot to offer and God has a very special place for you to serve. It will be A young congregation that wants a lively church.

I really liked this church and felt that I could offer them my heart and gifts for ministry, especially some stability and longevity. Affirmation? Very cool. Rejection? Ouch! All part of the search process. "Time to press on!"

5 thoughts on “The joys of the search process…

  1. Thanks for posting this. I understand the sentiment behind the letter, and it was honest and faithful. At the same time, it pains me to see it. If youthfulness is a criteria upon which their search process is being decided, their future as a church is likely going to be short. That’s okay: churches have lifecycles and we should be more upfront about that. But it is likely that the median age of that congregation will remain 75 until it peters out…

  2. KC-

    We know this but sometimes need to hear it. When God closes one door He will open another one. God has a place for you to minister. It will just be in His time.

  3. Well, I’m sure you don’t want to be there. My read on it is that they’re afraid that a younger pastor will attract younger people. Then the place will change and the older people will lose power, etc., etc. I believe it’s about fear.

    It sounds like they’ll be needing a chaplain to care for them until the day that the church closes its doors.

    At least they were honest about it. Many churches say that they want a young pastor to help them grow the church and then they panic when it actually starts to happen.

    They were right about one thing. God has something in mind for you.

Leave a Reply

