Revolution…

Tod has started a series here, here, here, and here on Barnas book Revolution, because of this discussion he’s begun and Steve has hinted to, I happened to pick the book up today. When I turned the book over to read what the hype was all about, what caught my eye was this statement; "Millions of believers have moved beyond the established church…and chosen to be the church instead." I’m planning to read this short read next week while on some study leave, but I immediately wondered to myself, "Barna, where were you before I went to seminary six years ago, acquired thousands of dollars in graduate debt, and got ordained as a pastor in a large denomination that seems to be fading away before my eyes?" I also wondered, "am I not needed now as a pastor in this shift of the people of God stepping down from the bleachers and becoming what the church always has been, will be, and always be as the people of God? Looks like a good read and will raise lots of questions for the people of God to ask and will cause me to ponder what my role will be as a pastor in this shift.   

3 thoughts on “Revolution…

  1. I’ve been looking forward to this one too for a while. We should compare notes when we are done, so that we can pass the quiz next week.

    Oh wait, we’re not in high school anymore…shoot…well…ummm…I think that’s a good thing.

  2. Pingback: Faith at Work Blog

Leave a Reply

