What kind of pastor do I want to be in 06

What kind of pastor do I want to be in 2006?

I want to be the kind of pastor that loves and adores my wife. I want to be the kind of pastor that tells the world of how blessed I am by the Lord and that I’m honored to be her husband. I want her to know that ministry and church will never take precedence over our marriage. I want her to know that I will honor her and love her over anything and anyone else in the church.

I want to be the kind of pastor that loves and adores my kids. I want to be the kind of pastor that tells the world of how blessed I am by the Lord to be a parent and that I’m honored to be their father. I want my kids to know that dad will always be available. I want them to know that my love for them as their father will always be for them over ministry and my responsibilities as a pastor and teacher of God’s Word. I want them to know that I will do my best to always keep them above everyone and anything else in the church.

I want to be the kind of pastor that models Christ’s love and compassion in a world that hurts so that others might come to know Jesus. I want others to the know the forgiveness and grace found in a relationship with Jesus and that this kind of forgiveness is for all of us as his children.

I want to be the kind of pastor that preaches and teaches God’s Word in a way that empowers and encourages the Kingdom of God to love others as Jesus loved them. I want to be a catalyst for helping the brokenhearted find healing and strength to get through the joys and struggles of life. I want to help others to becoming followers of Jesus. I want to be intentional and unafraid to go after those who Jesus would have gone after.

I want to be the kind of pastor that prays often and daily. I want others to see my heart for Jesus. I want to be a lover of Jesus, for his word, and to have a prayer life that where the people of God know with confidence that their pastor has a heart for prayer and that when he he says, "I will pray you," actually means it.

I want to be the kind of pastor that admits when he is wrong, to say sorry where needed, and is the first to reconcile and to make things right. I want to face the things that are hard and I want to learn from my mistakes. I want to help and model for others the art of reconciliation.

(Latest Addition) I want to be the kind of pastor that listens well and knows when to be quiet in order to listen to others. I want people to know that I will listen to them and give to them my full attention. I don’t want to be someone who has a reputation for not listening and that I don’t know when to be quiet.

Finally, I want to be the kind of pastor that builds and creates a place for the people of God to be in community, where those who need Jesus can find Jesus and can find restoration and refreshment for their souls. I want to encourage the kind of community that allows for the Holy Spirit to do the work of change. I want to live life as Jesus lived, unashamedly, with courage, and with boldness.

 

Leave a Reply

