I pledge Allegiance…under who then?

Sacbee Reading the paper this morning at the pub and came across the front page headline. You can read it here and the PDF file court opinion here. A hot topic of discussion here in Sacto and across the country. I couldn’t help but think of this here and I look to Mr. Crowder here…a song we recently taught in one of our worship services at church…

Chorus

And I will not be silent
And I will not be quiet anymore
I will not be silent
I will not be quiet anymore
Running Through the forest
Dive into the lake bare feet on beaches white
Standing in the canyon painted hills around
the wind against my skin
Every ocean every sea
Every river every stream
Every mountain every tree
Every blade of grass will sing

More details here.

 

5 thoughts on “I pledge Allegiance…under who then?

  1. There are going to be “prayer stations” during the convention. Kinda experiential prayer and such. I helped create some while I was in Nashville. It will be cool. She’s a really creative person. I’m sure you’ll like them.

  2. Just wondering what you mean by ordained ministry. If you are talking about ordained by God then if you are on mission with Him then isn’t all ministry ordained? If you are talking about being ordained by a denomination or a group of people then the only difference I see is 3 letters before your name. I’m not slamming you, I am just curious what you mean???

  3. I’ve been ordained in the Presbyterian Church USA as a Minister of Word and Sacrament for over a year now. My blogging was an attempt at reflecting on first year stuff that comes up as a young pastor who’s learning daily what it means to follow Christ and to proclaim the Gospel. I’ve been in youth ministry for close to twenty years prior to being ordained. I’m doing what I do because a bunch of people loved me and gave me Jesus in a place in my life that lacked any bit of hope. I do what I do because of the impact the gospel had on my life as a kid growing up in Los Angeles. I’m called by God to tell others of how I found hope, grace, and the breathe of God in the midst of my own brokenness. It’s by God’s grace that I’m doing what I’m doing. No different than you yourself. I work in a denomination though that places a high priority on training as a pastor and education as a pastor. Personally, if you’ve been called by the Lord to serve in the role as “pastor, preacher, and teacher” the three little letters don’t matter. One family in our preschool here at church asked me, “what do we call you? Father K.C., pastor K.C., reverend K.C.?” I responded by saying, “K.C.” What matters is your heart and your willingness to respond to God’s calling to love him, follow him, and to share a gospel that has the power of changing lives. It’s about the body of Christ coming together as the church with the desire to reach the people of God and to make the gospel come alive. Everyone and anyone looking for a bit of hope in a fallen world and who are needing rest for their souls. Pastor or not, ordained or not, we are called to go out into the world…and down the street…and at starbucks…and to those who are hungry, tired, in prison, homeless etc…to tell others of God’s goodness and that God is love and has redeemed us and has given us new life. No slam taken. You’re keeping me on my toes.(Jeremiah 29:11, Matthew 11:28-30, Matthew 28:16-20, Hebrews 10:24-25, I Peter 2:9-10)

Leave a Reply

