It was a GREEN DAY yesterday…

It’s been a while. A long while. The last time I watched the VMA show on MTV was when Hootie & The Blowfish was actually hot and Van Halen made a guest appearance. Much like what MC Hammer did last night in his guest appearance. I decided last night that I would actually sit through the whole show to get a glimpse of what is out there in the land of music. One of the things I remembered from the last show I watched sometime ago was the number of "thank you God’s." Nothing wrong with this. Can’t judge a persons heart for the Lord. Last nights show had a whole lot less of the, "I thank God for…" during the performers thank you speeches. I think I counted five or six "I thank God’s" inserted into the "thank you so much" speeches. I also noticed was that Pdiddy‘s work at proclaming the Gospel. Pdiddy was the spokesperson for the lastest in Jesus wear. His "God is the Greatest" t-shirt he wore stood out like a sore thumb. Watch out WWJD! Pdiddy made it once again hip to wear the latest in Jesus gear.

The band that really came out a winner last night was Green Day. Now I have to admit. I actually like some of Green Day’s music. The lyrics I could probaly do with out. On the flip side, the lyrics to many of their songs are very powerful I found the lyrics to one of their winning hits last night here. The song acutally reminded me of growing up in Hollywood as a kid…here are a few lines of "Boulevard Of Broken Dreams"

I walk a lonely road
The only one that I have ever known
Don’t know where
it goes
But it’s home to me and I walk alone

I walk this empty street
On the Boulevard of Broken Dreams
Where the city
sleeps
and I’m the only one and I walk alone

My shadow’s the only one that walks beside me
My shallow heart’s the only
thing that’s beating
Sometimes I wish someone out there will find me
‘Til
then I walk alone

I walk this empty street
On the Boulevard of Broken Dreams
Where the city
sleeps
And I’m the only one and I walk a…

My shadow’s the only one
that walks beside me
My shallow heart’s the only thing that’s
beating
Sometimes I wish someone out there will find me
‘Til then I walk
alone…

Powerful lyrics. After watching the show, I believe the lyrics speak volumes of much of what took place on the show. I have no doubt those who serve in youth ministry have students who understand loneliness. Many of the adults in our churches if they stopped and listened (okay read) to the lyrics would find that they themselves have walked down roads of loneliness in their own lives. We have a huge job in loving and ministering to youth right where they are at in their lives. They need someone to walk with them down the lonely roads of adolescence and to shine some kind of hope that the Lord is with us in the midst of the stuff of life. Thanks be to God that he walks with us and fills those places where we feel like we walk alone.

5 thoughts on “It was a GREEN DAY yesterday…

  1. Great insights. It’s been too long since I’ve watch the VMAs. I think the last I even heard of them was the imfamous “kiss” between Madonna and Brittney (I think).

    It’s such a thin line, between trying to understand youth culture and not being bothered by it at all. I’m starting to feel more and more alienated from music and pop culture. I’m not sure if this is a good thing or a bad thing. Though I stil retain my ability to interpert culture, which is essential to doing ministry in a relevant and real way.

    Keep it up man. Be encouraged.

  2. I’ve never watched MTV as a matter of principle, I think it actually kills brain cells. Actually, I don’t really like TV that much, except for Law and Order. I really like Law and Order. I don’t really like pop culture that much but at least I know it is Diddy now. He dropped the P. He felt it got inbetween him and his audience. Seriously, that is what he thought.

  3. Rats! I got beat to the name change of “Diddy.” Ugh! I watched some of it and noticed a lot of the same thigs you did about thanking God. When yiou see Les Christie tell him Deneice Fujii says hi!

Leave a Reply

