Preaching Class 101 (Jim Rome Style)

I don’t know if some of you listen to sports talk shows. The only show I’ve kept up with over the years I have to confess is the Jim Rome Show. While listening to the show today I had flash backs from my preaching classes from seminary. A pastor calls into the show from Littleton, Colorado. He apparently calls in each year. Nice guy. The pastor says, “Jim, you always say to have a take and don’t suck.” The pastor then says, I always say to myself when I get into the pulpit have a sermon don’t suck.” Rome affirms the caller for a take he has on the dodgers, the pastor hangs up, and Rome says to the caller, “thanks pastor for calling into the show.” My challenge to you pastor, “have a sermon don’t suck.” I almost crashed in laughter.

Leave a Reply

