Surrender as Worship

What would the church look like if worship was treated as an act of surrender to God weekly in our services? The song that we’ve sung for years in this large community of faith we call church I learned sometime in Jr. High school was called “Come Let Us Worship and Bow Down and makes me think about what worship as surrender would like in the church…

“Come, let us worship and bow down, let us kneel before the LORD our Maker. For He is our God, and we are the people of His pasture and the sheep of His hand.” Psalm 95:6-7a

I would love to hear in our churches from those in worship leadership teach on worship. To teach what it would truly look like if we modeled a theology of surrender in worship. I would love to hear in our churches what it means to truly come together as one church in worship and in surrender to our Lord. As a young pastor who’s been kicked in and out of my box of “naivete” I still like my box. I still like and love being an evangelical not ashamed of the gospel. I still desire for the church to be a church who truly worships the Lord in total and complete surrender. I also know that there are those who believe the same, call themselves liberal, and don’t realize that they are just as much an evangelical as I am when it comes to our theology of worship in the church. I guess I’m hitting on several topics I know I will never have time to comepletly disect. I believe I’ve touched on this in a previous post but why are people ashamed to call themselves an evangelical Jesus loving follower of Christ? I will be away this week on a retreat. I am looking forward to the chance to be a person in the pews. It’s been a long time where I’ve felt the freedom to surrender.

Leave a Reply

