All to Jesus I surrender…

One of my favorite lines in “Spiderman” the movie is when Spidermans uncle says to the masked spider dude, “with great power, comes great responsibility.” As a young naive pastor in my first year of ordained ministry I am learning that my life is one in which I need to learn how to surrender everything I do as a husband, father, and pastor to the Lord. Although I have no power in the literal superhero sense, my life is being watched daily by my family and those in the church which scares the scooby doo out of me. This a great deal of responsibility for those in the church including myself who are in positions of leadership. As I prepare for a weekend of opening day little league baseball games, attempts at cleaning the house while my wife vacations with a bunch of women from our church, and finishing my sermon, I can’t help but think that I need to be one who sings aloud, “All to Jesus I surrender, all to him I freely give.”

Leave a Reply

