Experiential Story Telling

After 19 months months of being out of seminary I’m finally catching up on books that I’m finding useful to me and my ministry as a pastor to students and families. This past weekend I got a book called “Experiential Story Telling” by Mark Miller from a youth specialties seminar I went to with some youth leaders from our church. What a great book so far and most of all a great reminder about my role as pastor and teacher in the way we as leaders tell the gospel story. In many ways we are the ones who make the stories of the gospel message come alive for those we minister to and serve with. Miller writes, “my belief is that when a story becomes personal and people begin to become unsettled and challenged by it, then they have been touched in a place where facts fear to tread. It is a place so personal it can spark an inner transformation.” I will keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

